The Fancies Three

The Fancies Three (3 Fantasy Pieces for Solo Oboe) was originally composed during the summer of 1988. The piece was extensively revised during the late autumn of 1997.

Although The Fancies Three is intended to be played as a three-movement work, individual movements may be excerpted.

All three movements’ titles rhyme with each other and each title contains a pun that provides the extramusical impetus for primary pitch material for each movement:

1.“See” = C
2.“Be” = Bb
3.“Spree” = E

Duration: 2’ 20” 2’ 50” 3’ 50”

Dan Locklair
Winston-Salem, NC