(for SATB chorus, divisi, SATB soloists, string orchestra and organ)
Dan Locklair

Requiem for SATB chorus (divisi), SATB soloists and organ was primarily composed between commissions over a two year period of time (2012-2014). Appearing to be finished in February 2014, I realized that an extensive revision was needed. This revision, which included the addition of string orchestra, was begun late in December 2014 and completed on 3 April 2015 (Good Friday). Requiem is now preferably performed incorporating both organ and string orchestra accompaniment, but it may still be performed with organ alone. Envisioned in 1986 (following my father’s death), the creation of Requiem received new impetus in 2005 (following my mother’s death). Thus, Requiem was composed in memory of my parents, Archie Greer Locklair (1916-1986) and Hester Helms Locklair (1918-2005). As an only child, I was very close to both of my parents and will ever be grateful to each of them for their deep, unselfish love and ongoing influence on my life. May they rest in peace and may this Requiem be a small, yet fitting, memorial to their rich lives.

is approximately forty minutes in length and is in nine movements that alternate chorus and organ-accompanied vocal solo movements. The four soloists also appear in movements 1 and 9, with them being placed antiphonally in movement 9. Elements of the traditional Latin Requiem Mass are present: 1. Introit & Kyrie, 3. Sanctus-Benedictus, 4. Pie Jesu, 5. Agnus Dei, 7. Lux aeterna and 9. Paradisum. In addition, three non-traditional solo movements use texts of comfort and assurance from Biblical scripture: John 14:1-4 (2. Let Not Your Heart Be Troubled – Tenor), John 11: 25-26 (6. I Am the Resurrection – Bass-baritone) and Psalm 121 (8.I Will Lift Up Mine Eyes to the Hills – Soprano). The Alto solo movement (4) is a setting of the traditional Pie Jesu text. All texts are in English and come from a variety of translations. Requiem is preferably performed in its entirety, but individual movements (especially the vocal solo movements) may be excerpted and performed alone.
Dan Locklair
April 2015
Winston-Salem, North Carolina

1. Introit & Kyrie Eleison (SATB chorus, SATB soloists and organ) [ca. 7’ 00”]

Eternal rest grant to Thy servants, Lord, and let light perpetual shine upon them.

Thou, O God, art praised in Sion; and unto Thee shall the vow be performed in Jerusalem.
Thou that hearest the prayer, unto Thee shall all flesh come.

Eternal rest grant to Thy servants, Lord.

Lord, have mercy upon us.
Christ, have mercy upon us.
Lord, have mercy upon us.

2. Let Not Your Heart Be Troubled (Tenor solo and organ) [ca. 3’00”]

Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.
(St. John 14:1-4 KJV)

3. Sanctus-Benedictus (SATB chorus and organ) [ca. 4’ 00”]

Holy, holy, holy, Lord God of Hosts:
Heaven and earth are full of Thy glory.
Glory be to thee, O Lord Most High.

Blessed is he that cometh in the name of the Lord.
Hosanna in the highest.

4. Pie Jesu (Alto solo and organ) [ca. 3’ 00”]

Merciful Jesus, Lord, grant them rest, grant them rest, eternal rest.

5. Agnus Dei (SATB chorus and organ) [ca. 4’ 30”]

Lamb of God, that takest away the sins of the world,
Grant them rest.
Lamb of God, that takest away the sins of the world,
Grant them rest.
Lamb of God, that takest away the sins of the world,
Grant them eternal rest.

6. I am the Resurrection (Bass-baritone solo and organ) [ca. 2’ 30”]

Jesus said unto her: I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live: And whosoever liveth and believeth in me shall never die.
(St. John 11: 25-26, KJV)

7. Lux aeterna (SATB chorus and organ) [ca. 5’ 00”]

Let everlasting light shine upon them, Lord,
with Thy saints for ever,
for Thou art merciful.

Grant them eternal rest, Lord,
and let light perpetual shine upon them,
for Thou art merciful.

8. I Will Lift Up Mine Eyes (Soprano solo and organ) [ca. 4’30”]

I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help.
My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth.
He will not suffer thy foot to be moved: he that keepeth thee will not slumber.
Behold, he that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep.
The Lord is thy keeper: the Lord is thy shade upon thy right hand.
The sun shall not smite thee by day, nor the moon by night.
The LORD shall preserve thee from all evil: he shall preserve thy soul.
The LORD shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore.
(Psalm 121 KJV)

9. In Paradisum – Requiescant in pace (SATB chorus, SATB [antiphonal] soloists, organ) [ca. 6’ 00”]

Into paradise may the angels lead thee. At thy coming may the martyrs receive thee
and bring thee into the holy city Jerusalem.

Rest in peace.